11280024_1083938731629816_1690765604_n 11856583_889852324434587_1183061148_n

About a month ago, I noticed the ‘Reclaim Your Lunch Break‘ initiative on Stylist’s twitter feed. Being a bit of a social media junkie and loving a good hashtag this was something I really wanted to get on board with.

Unfortunately, like most people, I had fallen into the trap of working through my lunch break as I always considered myself too busy to take some time out to regather my thoughts and de-stress a little. I would really like to pretend that there’s no such thing as being ‘too busy’ to do something…however let’s be realistic, many of us work in rather demanding jobs as well as having numerous other commitments to see to, and then take into consideration unexpected visitors to your office who ask for two minutes but end up staying with you for well over half an hour, and all of a sudden you’re at the end of the day wondering when the last time was that you managed to take a break from your screen and just relax with a cup of tea for 10 minutes.

The above is probably my work situation 75% of the time…but that means I can definitely find at least one lunchtime per week where I can set aside the time to get outside for some fresh air and reclaim my lunch break. Which honestly does make me more productive once I get back to my office after that hour is up.

I am fairly lucky – I’m based on a University campus overlooking a stunning city which has direct paths out into the countryside, as well as some challenging hills if I want to do something more technical (generally, I choose the easy option and just go for the relatively flat paths…#lazyrunner). And so I am already in a fortunate position as my work run routes are quite inspiring on a sunny day, littered with baby bunnies and big willowy trees – it really doesn’t get more picturesque than that.

And if the weather is miserable I can choose to go to a lunchtime exercise class at the sport centre on campus instead. Essentially, there are always options available.

And so, whilst I may not be reclaiming my lunch break every day, I have been able to once or twice each week recently (it certainly helps that it’s currently summer vacation time – ask me again during term time and I’m quite sure I won’t even remember what a lunch break looks like), and I feel much #betterforit.

I urge you to do the same this week.

Leave a Reply

