londonmarathonnews

Ah yes, the inevitable has happened – once again, I did not get a place in the London Marathon through the ballot. I knew the odds and was prepared for failure, but deep down had fingers and toes tightly crossed in the hope that this year would be my year. My year to run London.

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to run the London Marathon, it was one of those events that I would go to year on year so I could line the streets cheering everybody on. This year was particularly special, I shouted and waved from the sidelines as Paula Radcliffe ran her last ever London Marathon, and then once the elites ran past I was able to focus my attention on cheering every single other runner on – including my brother-in-law, which was lovely. For me, the London Marathon has always been one of those events where emotions run high – perhaps it’s because I love the city with all my heart and have so many wonderful memories made there. There is just something about London that really makes you want to shout your love for it from the rooftops, and that is precisely why I want to run London.

Others have told me to run Paris marathon instead, another city close to my heart, but for some reason it just doesn’t have that same appeal. If I am honest, I have no intentions to become a marathon runner (although I have also been tempted by Venice) – I have an uncle who runs ultras so he well and truly has that covered. But London is different. London is the one marathon where I would give it my all and make myself proud. Some have suggested I apply for a charity place, and I completely understand why that would suit them, but as selfish as it may sound, running London isn’t something I want to do for someone else or with the added pressure of raising a particular sum of money – no, running London is something I need to do for myself, without anyone else.

So whilst 2016 will not be my London Marathon year, I will keep fingers crossed that soon my time will come.

2 thoughts on “The Disappointment of London

  1. Hi Victoria, sorry to hear you didn’t get into London 😦 Why don’t you apply for a place through a competition? That’s how I got my place last year. I didn’t have to raise any money and infact I got sent a load of free kit too. Keep your eyes peeled via Twitter etc 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello, that is such a brilliant idea – thank you for planting the seed in my head. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for anything I see on social media! I so desperately want to run London! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

