BlogIMG_0844BlogIMG_0855

If there’s one thing I can confidently say about myself, it’s that I enjoy routine in all aspects of life, including my running. Unfortunately routine doesn’t correlate positively with performance improvement so I have started to mix things up a bit whilst out on my runs. The easiest way for me to mix it up is with the inclusion of the ‘100 steps of doom’ which take me from the seafront where I usually run right up to my house – so it is a fairly convenient addition and means I now get to avoid the ‘slope of death’, thankfully.

Whilst I’ve been tackling the ‘slope of death’ for years, both in running and cycling, I figured it was about time I started to incorporate the steps into my routine as I can see these will improve my cardio fitness quite quickly. I’m the type of person who generally takes the stairs wherever I go, so I’m not sure why I haven’t thought about including them in my routine before now. Even at work I’m the one who decides to run up the stairs in my heels whenever I head up to my office – I am also a firm believer in the ‘two-step’ technique, just because it gets you to your destination quicker.

BlogIMG_0837BlogIMG_0847

And so for the past week I have been adding these onto the end of my run, and I must admit I am really enjoying them. You get such a great burst of energy when you would otherwise be focussed on warming down. I do have to pause half way up to catch my breath at the moment (although that may have something to do with the chest infection I’m still recovering from), but I’m determined to be able to run up them without stopping by the first week of February.

BlogIMG_0849BlogIMG_08512BlogIMG_0871

(Big smiles for making it to the top!)

Will you start mixing things up in your running?

2 thoughts on “Mixing It Up

  1. I do like mixing things up with my running to keep it interesting. Running at different times of day is one way to mix it up. Also running half inside, half outside is helpful. Good luck and have fun!

    Like

    1. I’m a firm believer in mixing up timings too – especially at the moment when the majority of my runs are done in the dark after work. I think I’m just really craving the warmer and lighter weather now…winter training is tough! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

