TrilifeSchedule
I subscribed to thetrilife.com newsletter early last year whilst still finishing my MA as I knew that 2016 was going to be my year of triathlon and thought I would perhaps take the plunge and actually get a coach, rather than rely on the ‘complete a triathlon in 12 weeks’ guides that litter the internet. Then in the December newsletter I saw that thetrilife.com were seeking applications to join their Masters Triathlon Training Program for free, in return for providing updates and reports on training and races – of course, I signed up and waited patiently throughout the rest of December and the early part of January. In mid-January an email came out saying they had been inundated with applications and needed to take a little longer to decide on the three participants of the program. I assumed I would be unsuccessful at this point.

Well, as it turns out they ended up awarding ten places (there really must have been some great applications) and #thetrilifereporters were born – which rather excitingly includes me!

I am being coached by Dr Elizabeth Scott who has some very impressive sporting achievements under her belt (in addition to a PhD in Applied Mathematics…superwoman, some might add), and received my first two week training block last week which commenced today. The idea is that I will train for the rest of the year and will peak for my two big events: the Oysterman Triathlon in August and the Hever Castle Triathlon in September.

When I first looked at my training plan for this week I was equally excited and scared. My training involves 6 sessions per week, which sounds manageable, but when I looked at the detail of each session it was like a different language and was incredibly thorough. After consulting the glossary that came along with it, I was able to figure out exactly what was required of my first swimming session today and scribbled it down on my hand before getting in the pool. And it was brilliant – what a way to kick off February! Obviously I am training for Swimathon at the moment too so have been in the pool quite regularly, but I have only really been focussing on getting through the distance rather than the technique required to actually improve my swimming fitness in a productive way. I felt pretty pleased with myself when I climbed out of the pool and felt like I had really broken through a mental barrier too.

When I compare this bespoke plan to those I have previously downloaded from the internet, they really are just worlds apart. Generally other ones I have found will just say ‘swim for 45 minutes’ etc and lack the detail you need to show any serious progress. I’m already looking forward to tomorrow’s bike session which includes isolated leg training…something I would never have even thought about incorporating before now.

And so I’ll now be posting monthly training updates as part of #thetrilifereporters team on this blog, as well as all of my race reports for this year.

2 thoughts on “Thetrilife.com

Leave a Reply

