DCIM105GOPRO
IMG_0962IMG_0933Can you believe the #BlogSquad is now in its last few days of training for the Sport Relief Swimathon 2016?

I feel like I have well and truly become what I like to affectionately refer to as a ‘pool rat’. It feels like I am always at the pool…realistically it’s only two or three times a week, but that lingering eau de chlorine on your skin is enough to make you feel like you’re never too far from a lane.

As much as my internal dialogue protests at the prospect of an early morning swim, I have to admit it really hasn’t been that bad. Getting to the pool before work for a 45 minute session has become part of my routine and I have found that it really is a lovely way to start the day. You also see the same familiar faces when you swim at 6am in the morning because anyone who would put themselves through exercising at that time of the day is generally working towards some kind of event and is therefore rather disciplined. I have a sneaky suspicion that the majority of people in the pool with me are triathletes because we all seem to have the same Speedo Fins and pull buoy at the end of our lanes ready for drills. In fact, I wish I could have taken a photo of this on one of my swims last week as every single lane seemed to be accessorised with these, and we all gave polite nods of approval to each other.

That’s the thing I like most about swimming – everyone seems to be friendly. People think nothing of engaging in conversation in the changing rooms and saying a cheerful good morning when you join your lane. This may have something to do with the fact that I don’t swim at a leisure centre, and so people are more grown-up and respectful – but I’d like to hope it’s a universal thing.

My training hasn’t been easy though – don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy swimming and the routineness of it all, but I find swimming any kind of distance more than 800m a little bit boring. Distance swimming in a pool is just not my thing. Sure, I can do it – but I don’t like doing it. And I really don’t want to spend my time doing something I don’t particularly enjoy. Put me in open water though and I could swim all day. I feel stronger and more confident when I’m open water swimming because, as a sailor and a general beach bum, this is what I have been brought up with.

Despite not overly enjoying being in a pool, I have really enjoyed the Swimathon journey and am pleased that it has instilled some good habits. I genuinely am looking forward to completing my Swimathon challenge on Saturday at Whitstable pool and am thrilled to be the member of the #BlogSquad on #TeamRedSwim. I’ll be keeping up my swimming as it all feeds into my triathlon training…thankfully Swimathon has provided me with a great foundation to build upon for achievements in my races later on this year.

2 thoughts on “Swimathon: The Final Countdown

Leave a Reply

