DCIM105GOPRO

After a few months of secrecy, I can finally announce that I am part of the #BlogSquad for Swimathon 2017. Swimathon is an event I really love to champion as I think it is so vital that people have the necessary skill set to be able to keep themselves as safe as possible when in or near water, and well…swimming is FUN. So I really am delighted to be on the blogsquad for the second year running.

My swimming technique has come on leaps and bounds since this time last year and I occasionally swim with my coach who keeps me on track. That being said, I still fatigue really quickly when I’m in the pool as I tend to go off too fast in my warm up (quelle surprise) leaving little energy left for when I get to my main set and drills. And, I still really struggle with getting my nutrition right for swimming. Aside from those minor problems which can all be worked on, training is going relatively well for me at the moment.

I took the autumn off from swimming whilst recovering from a busy summer of triathlon and wanting to focus more on getting out on my bike whilst the weather was still fine, and then rejoined my favourite pool in January of this year and have aimed for at least one, but sometimes two, swim sessions per week. I know that with Swimathon being only 7 weeks away I have to start getting serious about my training again so that will mean waking up at silly o’clock and being a bit more regimented with my routine…and of course, not letting silly excuses get in the way of me getting to the pool.

I’m actually looking forward to stepping up my training because I know that when I have a swim event to train for, I do put in the effort and I see improvement quite quickly. Also, my first triathlon of the year is in May so this works out really well in terms of getting me race fit.

The whole point of Swimathon is to get the nation swimming – there are pools all around the country involved in hosting Swimathon from 7th-9th April 2017, it is also a great way of raising a bit of money for a good cause by fundraising for Marie Curie simultaneously. I’ve decided to swim at the London Aquatics Centre on the Sunday of Swimathon weekend to complete my challenge so hopefully I will bump into a few of you there.

If you’re interested in taking part in Swimathon this year, visit the website to find your nearest participating pool and then just commit to it – you won’t regret it and it will give you a great spring goal to work towards!

 

 

Leave a Reply

