DCIM100GOPRO

Do you know who I admire? Those people who can just swim length after length, for well over an hour, without feeling the need to deviate and do something else. I love swimming, really I do; I wouldn’t have signed up for Swimathon 2017 if I didn’t. But my gosh, I grow bored of lane swimming. Anyone that knows me will tell you that I’m an open water kind of girl…put me in the sea and I’ll keep myself swimming for hours. But put me in the pool and I won’t last longer than an hour.

And that is precisely why I need structured training sessions – I’m currently using one of the training plans on the Swimathon website for one of my swims each week. I work well when I have my swim broken down into sections and love having drills to do before my main set (in fact, drills are my favourite part of swimming which can probably be attributed to the fact that I’m a perfectionist)…plus following a session like this keeps me motivated and focussed when in a lane with others. For my other session each week I work with my coach who really keeps my technique in check and pushes me hard when I start coming up with excuses as to why I’m low on energy (you should hear some of my excuses…luckily she doesn’t listen to any of them and makes me do exactly what she wants me to do anyway).

So yes, I’m not one of those types who can swim up and down a lane for hours on end whilst enjoying every second. Instead I’m the type of swimmer who loses focus and grows irritable, I’m also not a graceful swimmer who makes the sport look beautiful and easy – I’m all limbs which is terrible when sharing a lane with other people, though great for reaching things in inconvenient places. But despite the struggles I have with staying focussed when in the pool, I can guarantee that after every swim I feel exhilarated and happy because a good swim really does make you feel better.

So what type of swimmer does that make me? A very normal one, actually (and also one who may have skipped a session this week…mais, c’est la vie).

 

One thought on “Swimathon: Keeping Myself Motivated

Leave a Reply

